top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrittany Reiling

You are entirely up to you

you are entirely up to you.

What a simple and yet terrifying thought sometimes.


In the past I found this quote comforting. How great to think I am in control of who I am! I determine who I am! Nobody else. Just me.


This past year, I find this quote frustrating. There are portions of my life that I wish were different. There are areas I wish I was doing better in. And the fact that I am solely in charge of who I am, seems daunting.


While in the past I would have agreed that this quote is 100% true, I think there’s a little wiggle room with it. Yes, we are in control of our actions and attitudes, but it doesn’t mean we have to do everything on our own.


Part of being in charge of who we are, may mean recognizing at times when we need help. It may mean leaning into others when we are feeling weak. It may mean that we are strong enough to recognize we can only show up at 50% today, and that’s ok. It means looking to those around us, being honest with them about where we are, and asking them to help you make up that other 50%.


So for those struggling with who you are and feeling like life is happening to you, look around. You are in charge of you, it’s true. Who you are is up to you! But that doesn’t mean you can’t grant yourself some grace, and ask for help and lean into those around you, to help keep you moving forward and staying a float!



So look to those who you have chosen to be part of your life, and lean into them knowing that you my friend, you, are entirely up to you… and those who you surround yourself with! 🙃


8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page