top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrittany Reiling

Top 5 Reasons to Choose a “Word of the Year”

Updated: Jan 11, 2022

I first heard about the exercise of “choosing a word,” for the year a few years back. Initially, I steered clear. Choose ONE word to represent me for the entire year? Choose ONE word to carry out for the next 365 days? Whoaaa. The expectations felt way too high.


Then last year around August, I felt a word whispered in my ear over and over again. And so, when the idea presented itself again at the new year, I thought… sure why not? I’ll play along and choose a “word for the year.” And so I did.


If you’ve read my previous posts, you may see that “prosper,” was my word for 2021. I looked the word up and found numerous definitions for it (I won’t dive deep into that here, but I encourage you to read my previous post). I thought great, word picked, I’m going to serve it well! I’m going to find all the avenues and ways in which I can “prosper,” this next year. Boy did I have this all wrong!


Here’s what I found. Instead of me serving this word well, IT served me well! Perhaps this is the writer in me that believes so strongly in the power of words, but it’s true. This word was so powerful and meaningful to me.


Here’s why I now support choosing a “word of the year.”


  1. It gives you focus. This past year when I had trying times, I would go back to my word. It ended up acting as my compass north. I would take time to look up new meanings, new Bible passages, books or sentences in which it was used. During these difficult times, my word helped to guide me in reflection. I would take time to journal on what I’d learn, or just search Google for a new interpretation. Some of the times, my search and reflection stayed focused on my word, and other times it lead me to other meaningful ideas. It helped me to refocus and to gain perspective. Of course, I encourage you to also reflect on your word during the times of good as well! It was especially fun when I could see my word brought to life in positive ways!

  2. It’s fun! Having a word of the year became a project of sorts for me! It was a challenge to see different ways it could be applied to my life and world. I enjoyed learning the history behind my word, the ways my particular word was used in Biblical ways, and how it’s meaning is translated in various ways. It was fun to see how the different interpretations played out in my life!

  3. Connection: Having a word of the year has given me a fun conversation starter! It’s been fun to talk to others who have chosen a word, and hear why they chose the word or how it has been meaningful to them! On the other hand, it’s given me an outlet and way to connect with others as I share with them ways my word has been impactful in my life!

  4. It’s NOT a resolution: Perhaps this is my favorite reason for choosing a word of the year! Because it’s NOT a resolution, it can’t be broken! You can NOT fail at a word of the year! What a great way to take some pressure off and away from those New Year’s resolutions that you make and then immediately think, “oh I’ll start next Monday…” (haha you laugh because you know it’s true). Your word is simply meant to be a guiding light, a nudge, a way to help you to intentionally focus, reflect and guide your energy through the year.

  5. There are no rules: Yep, that’s right. When it comes to your word there are no rules to how you choose it! Perhaps, you even find a verse or quote that you choose for the year. Either way, no rules! Heck, get half way through the year and feel another word is speaking to you… go for it! Change it or add it to your list! This being said, I would encourage you to not change it every other week. Again, this word is meant to be a way for you to reflect and intentionally guide your focus and energy. If you have too many words… squirrel… it might be difficult to focus.

As we enter this new year, I encourage you to take time and choose a “word of the year.” Spend some time to reflect on it, journal about it or share with a friend why you feel the word is meaningful. Write it down in a journal and come back to it occasionally, or grab a dry-erase marker and challenge yourself to use some fancy chalkboard lettering to doodle it on your bathroom mirror! Either way, I hope that you’ll enjoy the practice!


Have a word you’ve chosen? Share it! You might be someone’s inspiration! Interested in how to choose a word of the year? Let me know!


29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

You are entirely up to you

you are entirely up to you. What a simple and yet terrifying thought sometimes. In the past I found this quote comforting. How great to think I am in control of who I am! I determine who I am! Nobody

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page