top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrittany Reiling

Rediscover your childhood passion

“Mommy can I get a journal to write in like you?”


If you know me, or have followed my stories for any time, you know this question from my baby girl brought me all the feels. My heart tightened as if getting the biggest hug and a flood of emotions took over my body. It may sound silly, but a few tears brimmed in my eyes as I emphatically said, “yes baby girl! Of course you can!” and I wrapped my arms around her with the biggest hug.


I know to some this may sound a little dramatized. A little, Hallmark movie-esque if you will, but that moment meant so much to me!


Writing has been a passion of mine from as far back as I can remember. Some of my first memories are of me sitting at the bottom of my closet, accordion doors pushed aside, with a box of my Mamaw’s old kindergarten class “see Spot run books.” They were simple, printed on computer paper in black ink. And so, following suit, I remember getting white paper, cutting pages out and writing my own stories. I wrote “chapter books” as I grew and in 3rd grade officially joined the UIL “ready writing,” team. It. Was. My. Jam. I loved it! All through high school, I continued to love creative writing in my English classes.


As I went to college and followed the path of becoming a PT, writing was buried beneath kinesiology and physics books. I would still get nostalgic at a book store or coffee shop, and buy a new pretty journal here and there, but it typically went to the wayside fairly quickly.


This last year and a half, my passion for writing resurfaced. At first, it came as an outlet for stress, and then as a creative piece of attempting to grow a business. Since then, it hasn’t left me.


I still go through waves where I don’t write as much, but when I do, is when I feel most alive and happy! Lately, I’ve been loving guided journaling through Rebekah Lyons new devotional, as well as journaling on my own. Some of it’s creative. Some of it’s to brain dump future ideas. Some of it’s a stress relief. No matter what the reason though, at the end of the day, it fills my cup and my heart. It brings me joy and peace.


All of this to say, when my little girl asked if she could get a journal to write like mommy, you better believe I whipped out that cell phone and found my Target app as quick as I could so we could pick out a journal and fun pens for her first journal! I don’t know if she’ll be a writer or not, but I do hope that she can utilize journaling as an outlet and tool at different times in her life when she needs it. And I hope, whatever passion she finds, that she holds on tight to it, and allows it to fill her cup as writing has mine.


What are you passionate about? Can you even remember? Writing was something I completely forgot about. In fact, my husband had no idea I love to write when we got married! Whatever your passion is, I encourage you to find it and begin to reincorporate it into your life! I promise, life will feel so much more full!





9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page